PERA Enterprise Architecture

There are three types of Enterprise Architecture:

  1. Production Facilities Architecture,
  2. People/Organization Architecture, and
  3. Control and Information Systems Architecture.

Each of these Architecture "sets" exists at one phase (or really at a point in time) as indicated by the diagram below. During each phase of the enterprise, different diagrams are used to reflect the developing detail as the enterprise moves from initial Definition to Operations Phase, to Dissolution.

Tell me more about Enterprise Phases

PERAWHA4.GIF - 10141 Bytes

Taken together, any "row" above defines the complete Enterprise Architecture at for that phase Although formats of each of the three architecture components (Facilities, People and Information Systems) vary, the intent is the same: to provide a coherent and coordinated representation of the enterprise during that phase.

It is also true for all three architecture components, that additional detail is added in each sucessive phase by building on the information defined in the previous phase. The following diagram shows typical "deliverables" or documents produced at each phase of the Enterprise.

Pera_Activities.gif - 19758 Bytes

For more discussion of the concept of Enterprise Architectures see "What is an Enterprise Architecture" the Frequently Asked Questions section.

by Gary Rathwell reserved

Back to PERA Home Page